Come On, Everyone Is Doing It

Sometimes the idea of cooking can be overwhelming for people. Add the “mystery” of cooking Vegan style and it can be a whole new level of overwhelm. But really, it’s like trying anything new and remembering that preparing food with new ingredients you may have never worked with before can be a lot of fun. Just ask my sweetie who tried his hand at Vegan cooking for the very first time on New Year’s Eve for me. I was actually quite impressed that he stepped out of the traditional pasta with marinara that I usually get when someone has me over to their house because they “just don’t know what to cook for a Vegan.” Color me quite pleased to hear the menu as going to be grilled seitan, garlic mashed potatoes, and chilled strawberry soup. (I know, right?)

So after him fretting about the kitchen, the results looked good and tasted even better. The main course:

Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Grilled Seitan

The yummy dessert:

Chilled Strawberry Soup

It was all really very tasty and, again, quite impressive for someone’s first foray into Vegan cooking. This gal can only hope this continues and evolves into a project as awesome as Cooking for a Vegan Lover’s Blog. Okay, I won’t get greedy, I’ll just be happy for the occasional dish or two now and then. I do think he knows, though, that the way to my heart is through my tummy. ;)

I’ll leave you with the recipe that he used (and Veganized!) for dessert.

Chilled Strawberry Soup

Ingredients:

2 cups frozen strawberries

2 cups vanilla soymilk

1 cup non-dairy creamer (recipe called for heavy cream…do they make this Vegan? If so, let me know!)

1/2 cup Tofutti sour cream

2 tablespoons sugar, or to taste

Puree strawberries,  soy milk, cream and sour cream in a blender or food processor until smooth. Stir in sugar to taste. Chill 8 hours or overnight in refrigerator before serving.

So there you have it. Now get into the kitchen. Come on, everyone is doing it! NOM.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

