Skinny Bitch (and a contest, too!)

While living in New York and working for Farm Sanctuary last summer, I was gifted a copy of Skinny Bitch from friends over at LAVA. It’s funny how this book kept crossing my path but I’d always keep passing it along before having a chance to read it (over 2 years ago my pal over at Vegan Mafia had also gifted me copy), so I figured that I may as well actually read it before doing so this time. I really wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about this book because while I knew they promoted Veganism, I was hesitant at their angle since I’m not a Vegan for health reasons. Okay, okay, I guess when it comes down to it, I AM a Vegan for health reasons…the health of the animals but that’s a given, ya know?

I have to admit that I was actually pleasantly surprised with their voice on Veganism. Yes, this book is about getting healthy and having a kick ass body, but they don’t gloss over Veganism as simply a means to do that. They don’t simply talk about cholesterol or fats in dairy; they get down and dirty and openly discuss the injustices in factory farms, the pain and torture that animals truly suffer for people to stuff their faces because it “tastes so good” to them, and actually include some stories from people who have or had worked in slaughterhouse environments. Being a Vegan for nearly 3 years, I’ve heard all the things that were talked about in these awful farms, but it still brought me to tears to read the words from people who are employed by them. Who could hold tears back reading about people sticking broomsticks up a cow’s behind and screwing them with it? Or how about the hogs that are still alive when they get to the scalding tank, hit the water kicking and screaming and eventually drown? And then there is slicing off a pig’s nose like a piece of bologna, taking salt brine to that mutilated nose and then shoving the rest of that salt into the pig’s behind? Yeah, these ARE things that happen and people who want to think that these are isolated incidents are fooling themselves. Sure sounds tasty doesn’t it? Mmmm, mmmm, mmmmm.

This book reminds people that they are what they eat and provides great tips to rid one’s diet of animal products completely and discusses how it benefits everyone involved. It even offers some great menu ideas and a variety of products currently on the market to make the transition to a Vegan diet an easy one.

I’m obviously not a Vegan because I want to be a skinny bitch, but it’s pretty awesome that giving my body cruelty free foods makes me healthier as a result. I love that the choices I’m making are ones that are not only great for me but for all the those living beings who deserve to live their lives in dignity. If that makes me a skinny bitch, well right on then.

So now is the time for me to pass along my copy of Skinny Bitch to one of you and my hope is, after you read it, you’ll pass it along to someone who needs it as well. Let’s make this copy travel until the pages fall out, the herbal tea stains blacken the cover, and we’ve made more people see why Veganism is a great choice for yet another reason. We only get one body so let’s be good to it, shall we?

Next Sunday I’ll pick a random winner to get my worn and loved copy of this book. For a chance to win, please begin following me on Twitter @veganmeowmix and then come back here and in the comments let me know your Twitter name so I can keep up with you, too.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Skinny Bitch (and a contest, too!)

  1. Awesome post/review/giveaway Wozzie!

    More people need to realize that Veganism is the way to go. Animals aren’t here for us to use and abuse. They are here for their own purposes.

    And people need to know that those things you mentioned are the norm. And also happen in non factory farm environments as well.

    And a positive side note (f you aren’t just eating fries and soda) is that it is good for you as well!

  2. Oh, and I follow you as rahzh and HHveganos on twitter ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I is zucchinibreath and I has been following you for long times:)

  4. I retweeted this again for you. is this the right place to enter? I expected thousands of replies… ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe I have a chance!!!??!!

    • wozzie

      You definitely have a good chance! Thank you for spreading the word, I really appreciate it. Not many hits on this one. I know it’s an older book but I was sure there were some people out there like me who hadn’t read it! ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. I’ve always wanted it but haven’t been able to justify BUYING it, lol.

    Digits Juxtaposed ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’ve always been curious about this one, but never got around to buying it. I’m @MFIoF on Twitter. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Alethea

    I signed up for Twitter just for this book! Arggh, you’ve finally entrapped me.

    @Aletheagrace

Leave a Reply

