Doug Tacos

One of my new favorite shows is the Showtime series, Weeds. I love the characters, the out of control situations, and now I love these tacos. While the tacos don’t really have anything to do with the show, Kit Kat fondly named them “Doug Tacos” after Kevin Nealon’s character.

We love Doug and we love tacos, so this was naturally love at first bite. The other great thing is that these are super easy to make and after all is said and done, really darn cheap, too!

I present to you, Doug Tacos:

Doug Tacos

Kevin Nealon’s Chickpea Tacos a.k.a Doug Tacos

1 small onion, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 celery stalk, chopped
1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained
3 – 5 tablespoons salsa
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1 dash cayenne pepper, or to taste
8 – 10 taco shells

In large saute pan, heat oil over medium heat.

Cook onion, celery, and green pepper until softened. Add chickpeas, salsa, cumin, and chili powder. Stir and cook until warmed. Mash chickpeas slightly with a fork for better texture.

Fill shells evenly with mixture from saute pan. If desired, top with any of the following: chopped tomatoes, shredded soy or rice cheese, low-fat guacamole, shredded lettuce, hot sauce, or salsa.

A few notes: I didn’t use onion or green pepper when I made them but I’m sure they’d be a delicious addition. Also, instead of using store bought tortilla shells, I made them the way my Grams has made them for years: hot oil in a skillet. This makes them soft and with just a touch of crunch. Yum! As you can see from the picture, we added my famous guacamole and we also used some Chili Garlic Cholula for some extra spice. It’s my favorite!

The Doug Tacos will definitely become part of the dinner rotation in our house.

Meow.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Doug Tacos

  1. Stefani Schiff

    Made the Doug Tacos last night. I think it is going to be my new favorite food!! I couldn’t believe how good they were.

Leave a Reply

